Newcastle and Wyong will lock horns in the opening round of the shortened 2020 season.

AFL Hunter Central Coast has officially locked in all 2020 fixtures for the late-starting Women’s Black Diamond Cup, and it’s kicking off with a beauty; Newcastle City and Wyong Lakes face off in a 2018 grand final grudge match right off the bat.

Elsewhere in the opening round, Maitland (second place last season) will travel to Cameron Park to play Cardiff (sixth last year). Warners Bay (8th) will also play host to Killarney Vale (2019 table-toppers), while Terrigal Avoca (5th) will face the newly-combined Nelson Bay-Port Stephens joint outfit at Hylton Moore Oval.

After months sitting on the sideline, waiting for the next premiership campaign to begin post-COVID, AFL Hunter Central Coast’s regional manager Sam Zikman says everyone at the governing body “couldn’t be more excited, and relieved.”

“Everyone has to adapt to a little bit of adversity this season, we all know that, and clubs have been really fantastic about it all as we return to play a little bit later than we had originally planned for 2020,” the AFLHCC community manager said.

2019 runners-up Maitland will travel to Cameron Park to face Cardiff in another of the opening-round fixtures.

Zikman also confirmed there would be no weekly BarTV coverage for any of the Hunter Central Coast competitions “just for this year.” AFLHCC expects the one game per round broadcasts to return in the 2021 season.

ReadNewcastle Netball unveils new Club Championship switch-up for 2020 season

Last season’s eleventh-place bolters Wallsend-West Newcastle, and playoff contenders Lake Macquarie were also potentially slated to play in the 2020 season. The Chronicle understands they will not be involved in the Cup, however.

Instead, both the Swans and the Dockers have joined the Black Diamond Plate competition. Gosford, The Entrance Bateau Bay, Singleton, Muswellbrook, and a second Newcastle City squads were already among the second-division teams.

The Tigers host The Entrance Bateau Bay in the opening week of the 2020 Plate. City will travel to face the Swans at Bill Elliot Oval, and the Roosterettes are on the road to Lake Macquarie. Muswellbrook has the bye.

Here’s all twelve rounds for the 2020 Women’s Black Diamond Cup competition:

Round 1 (July 18)

  • Cardiff v Maitland
  • Warners Bay v Killarney Vale
  • Terrigal Avoca v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens
  • Wyong Lakes v Newcastle City

Round 2 (July 25)

  • Cardiff v Killarney Vale
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Warners Bay
  • Terrigal Avoca v Newcastle City
  • Maitland v Wyong Lakes

Round 3 (August 1)

  • Warners Bay v Cardiff
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Terrigal Avoca
  • Newcastle City v Maitland
  • Killarney Vale v Wyong Lakes

Round 4 (August 8)

  • Maitland v Cardiff
  • Newcastle City v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens
  • Killarney Vale v Terrigal Avoca
  • Wyong Lakes v Warners Bay

Round 5 (August 15)

  • Warners Bay v Maitland
  • Newcastle City v Wyong Lakes
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Killarney Vale
  • Cardiff v Terrigal Avoca

Round 6 (August 22)

  • Killarney Vale v Newcastle City
  • Maitland v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens
  • Terrigal Avoca v Warners Bay
  • Wyong Lakes v Cardiff

Round 7 (August 29)

  • Newcastle City v Warners Bay
  • Cardiff v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens
  • Maitland v Terrigal Avoca
  • Wyong Lakes v Killarney Vale

Round 8 (September 5)

  • Warners Bay v Terrigal Avoca
  • Killarney Vale v Maitland
  • Newcastle City v Cardiff
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Wyong Lakes

Round 9 (September 12)

  • Warners Bay v Newcastle City
  • Killarney Vale v Cardiff
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Maitland
  • Terrigal Avoca v Wyong Lakes

Round 10 (September 19)

  • Cardiff v Warners Bay
  • Maitland v Killarney Vale
  • Newcastle City v Terrigal Avoca
  • Wyong Lakes v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens

Round 11 (September 26)

  • Maitland v Newcastle City
  • Cardiff v Wyong Lakes
  • Terrigal Avoca v Killarney Vale
  • Warners Bay v Nelson Bay-Port Stephens

Round 12 (October 3)

  • Killarney Vale v Warners Bay
  • Nelson Bay-Port Stephens v Newcastle City
  • Terrigal Avoca v Cardiff
  • Wyong Lakes v Maitland