Newcastle have taken control of the top spot after two wins on the bounce in the Black Diamond Cup opening rounds. Image via Geoff Robinson.

Defending champions Newcastle City have gone top of the AFL Hunter Central Coast Women’s standings, after downing arch-rivals Terrigal Avoca in a southern battle at Hylton Moore Oval in the second round of the Black Diamond Cup.

City got off to a flying start against their southern rivals, slotting four goals to the Panthers’ one — scored by Morgan Ross — to take a 26–6 lead in the opening quarter.

The travelling team then piled on the hurt in the second, blowing their lead out to 48 points thanks to a second-quarter hat-trick from Meaghan Macdonald.

The premiers proved why they’re going for a fourth consecutive Black Diamond Cup flag in the second half. Macdonald led the charge with four more over the final two quarters, while Simone Wood and offseason signing Amy Pittman clinched doubles for the Blues.

Newcastle’s grudge-match triumph keeps them top in the 2020 season so far, having chalked up a 2–0 run to open the late-starting season. That was a record only matched by fellow first-place contenders Killarney Vale as they edged Cardiff away from home.

Read more recent news

2019’s table-toppers stayed undefeated alongside the Blues with an 87–23 win against the Hawks at the Pasterfield Sports Complex on Sunday afternoon. The second-round results squeeze the top spot to just the two heavyweights, for now.

The Bombers got an early start over Cardiff at Cameron Park to stay undefeated heading into the third round.

Elsewhere, Wyong Lakes notched their first win of the season at the same time, beating Maitland in a lopsided win on the road. Rebecca Ives kicked four for the Magpies, while Holly Gibbons added three of her own to claim a hat-trick at Max McMahon Oval.

Nelson Bay/Port Stephens’ match against Warners Bay, which was to be hosted at Dick Burwell Oval on Sunday afternoon, was delayed due to an emergency COVID-19 warning from AFL Hunter Central Coast regarding all Nelson Bay teams.

STANDINGS: Newcastle City, Killarney Vale (8), Wyong Lakes, Cardiff, Terrigal Avoca (4), Warners Bay, Maitland, Nelson Bay/Port Stephens (0).