The team list for Saturday’s AFL Hunter Central Coast representative clash against AFL South Coast at Pasterfield Sports Complex has been announced, with 2018 grand final teams Newcastle City and Wyong Lakes leading the 23-player cohort.

Meaghan Macdonald, Rosie Ronan-Yates, Taylor Joyce, and Molly Simpson have been selected from the defending champions, while Alexandra Pearce, Emily Bohan, Kanesha Murray, and Rebecca Ives have been drawn from the Magpies. Cardiff has sent the next highest player count, with young guns Arizona Cross and Matisse Coram-Parker joined by Taylah Wilks from the Hawks.

The league’s current top goalscorer in Jessie Burnham (32 in five games) was passed over for selection, but fellow goalscoring machines Morgan Ross from the Panthers (25 in five, second in the race), Sarah Burns from current league leaders Maitland (19 in five), and Amy Pittman from Wallsend-West Newcastle (17 in four) have been named.

Nelson Bay’s Kate Holland has been named as the team’s captain. The match begins from 3pm and will be available live and free from BarTV Sports.

FL Hunter Central Coast representative squad: Meaghan Macdonald, Rosie Ronan-Yates, Taylor Joyce, Molly Simpson (Newcastle City), Morgan Ross (Terrigal-Avoca), Ashleigh Page, Jocelyn Kelleher (Killarney Vale), Jemma Astley, Kate Holland (c) (Nelson Bay), Arizona Cross, Matisse Coram-Parker, Taylah Wilks (Cardiff), Tahlia Thompson (Singleton), Alexandra Pearce, Emily Bohan, Kanesha Murray, Rebecca Ives (Wyong Lakes), Sarah Burns (Maitland), Amy Pittman, Kate Booth (Wallsend West Newcastle), Emma-Jayne Howe (Lake Macquarie).