Singleton spin queen Maisy Gibson has been named in the 14-player NSW Breakers squad travelling to Adelaide for one of the biggest matches in the team’s past 22 years.

New South Wales has been a powerhouse in the Women’s National Cricket League for more than two decades, featuring in every WNCL grand final since the inception of the competition in 1996/97, with that unbroken streak currently best in any Australian top-tier semi-professional or professional league the country over.

Having played in all 22 of the finals, the Breakers also walked away with the crown 19 times – now, the ladies in blue are in danger of missing out on the major playoffs for the first time in their history.

The Breakers are currently sitting third with just two matches left to be played – a Friday clash against South Australia before they come up against second-placed ACT in their final rubber on Saturday.

It’s a perfect storm that Gibson, alongside massive names in the sport like Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes and Nicola Carey, are walking into, but one that new captain Healy knows the whole squad can overcome.

“It’s a little daunting as a new captain coming in and seeing the side sit not top of the table and fighting for the finals,” Healy said.”The players coming into the squad are aware of the legacy we have and trying to protect it.”

“To see the level of the competition this year with Tasmania sitting on top who have traditionally been at the back end of the table is really cool. It shows the depth we’ve got in this country is really there.”

NSW’s direct rivals Tasmania and the ACT – who currently sit first and second respectively with 13 and 12 points – have never featured in a final, and the Breakers are looking to make sure that streak continues for the two teams.

Queensland, Western Australia and Victoria also remain outside chances of qualifying.

NSW Breakers squad: Alyssa Healy (c), Sarah Aley, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Rene Farrell, Ash Gardner, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Ellyse Perry, Lauren Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa. Final XI to be named at the toss.