Rampaging forward Hannah Southwell is just one of five State of Origin stars return for Newcastle against the Bulldogs this weekend in the NSW Women's Premiership. Image via NSWRL.

Tayla Predebon is set to start for CRL Newcastle this weekend against the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs, after spending much of the 2019 season playing off the bench for the second-placed squad.

Gloucester-born Predebon has been named to make the swap from the pine to the starting No.10 jumper due to the absence of regular starting prop Emma Young. Young represented Fetua Samoa against the Kiwi Ferns in last weekend’s rep round.

Rick Stone has also named his full cohort of Blues heroes, who will back up in the clash in Belmore just eight days after battling to a 14-4 victory over Queensland to retain the Nellie Doherty Cup in front of more than 10,000 in North Sydney.

Read more recent news

Isabelle Kelly, Kylie Hilder, Hannah Southwell, and Holli Wheeler have all been named to start against the Bulldogs on Saturday afternoon.

Isabelle Kelly has slotted straight back into her starting centre role, while Hannah Southwell and Holli Wheeler have both been confirmed to start in Newcastle’s forward pack.

Kylie Hilder, who played the opening 19 minutes in Origin, has been named at hooker.

NSW Under 18’s representative Caitlan Johnston will also back up after her player of the match performance in the historic junior Origin curtain raiser ahead of the women’s main event last Friday evening.

Read: Caitlan Johnston knocking over every goal she sets herself in rugby league

The CRL side returns to the NSW Women’s Premiership after a handful of bye rounds over the past month for the National Championships, and the Women’s State of Origin. The club currently sits in second place with a 7-2 record.

CRL Newcastle Round 15 team list: 1. Claire Reed, 2. Skye McKenzie, 3. Bobbi Law, 4. Isabelle Kelly, 5. Alicia Martin, 6. Olivia Higgins, 7. Melanie Howard, 8. Rebecca Young, 9. Kylie Hilder, 10. Tayla Predebon, 11. Holli Wheeler, 12. Hannah Southwell, 13. Sophie Buller, 14. Tazmyne Luschwitz, 15. Caitlan Johnston, 16. Chantelle Graham, 17. Alyssa Tai, 18. Stacey Markham, 19. Margaret Watson, 20. Amy Broadhead.

Smith signs with Roosters for 2019 NRLW season

In more NRL Women’s Premiership signing news, Newcastle playmake Simone Smith is set to join the Sydney Roosters for the upcoming 2019 season.

Smith has previously played for the Jillaroos, just falling foul of a long-term injury. This year the livewire half slotted into the fullback role for CRL Newcastle for a handful of mid-season games, and shone with NSW Country at the National Championship.

The former Jillaroo will link up with current Newcastle coach Stone, as well as Isabelle Kelly, and fellow Novocastrian recruits Hannah Southwell and Mel Howard, both of whom are making the switch from St George to the tricolours this season.