Bec Young will play in the 2019 NRLW competition after missing out in its inaugural year. Image via NSWRL.

CRL Newcastle stars Bobbi Law, and Bec Young are set to join the Sydney Roosters ahead of the 2019 NRL Women’s Premiership, linking up with teammates Isabelle Kelly, Mel Howard, Simone Smith, and Hannah Southwell in Rick Stones’ squad.

Kelly, Howard, and Southwell confirmed they would be joining the tricolours in late June. Now three more of the Newcastle squad currently leading the NSW Women’s Premiership have put pen to paper to play for the 2018 NRLW grand finalists.

Former Jillaroos star Smith’s signature was confirmed a week later, alongside the announcement Queensland representative Tallisha Harden would also be joining Rick Stones’ setup in the second NRLW season.

“I know that a lot of hard work has gone in at the Roosters over the past few months to ensure that we are in a good position for the start of this year’s NRL Women’s Premiership, and I’m really looking forward to working with the team that has been assembled once pre-season kicks off next month,” incoming Roosters boss Stone said.

“2018 was a terrific founding year for the Roosters in the NRLW, and we will be looking to build on that this year to make sure that we all do the Roosters jersey proud.”

Read more recent news

While Kelly, Howard, and Southwell are all returning to the NRLW after successful inaugural seasons in the newly founded league, 2019 will mark the first time Law, Smith, and Young will play in the national competition.

Young was one of a handful of international representatives snubbed for a contract in the league’s first season. The veteran forward put her head down after missing the chance to play in the league’s opening year, however, and has punched her ticket to the tricolours off the back of a successful 2019 with Newcastle.

The Roosters contracts are also success story Bobbi Law. Code-hopping centre Law “took a chance on rugby league” this season, and the decision has paid off in spades.

“It would be awesome to play in the NRL Womens, I think that’s my next goal in league. I have to prove that I deserve to step up to that level,” Law told the Chronicle at the Women’s National Championships in May.

The 22-player roster will assemble at Roosters HQ for pre-season in mid-August, ahead of the NRLW Premiership kicking off in September.

Sydney Roosters 2019 NRL Women’s Premiership Squad: Jasmin Allende, Karina Brown, Kirra Dibb, Quincy Dodd, Vanessa Foliaki, Tallisha Harden, Melanie Howard, Isabelle Kelly, Bobbi Law, Amelia Mafi, Nita Maynard, Corban McGregor, Aliti Namoce, Shanice Parker, Ruan Sims, Simone Smith, Hannah Southwell, Shontelle Stowers, Kiana Takairangi, Zahara Temara, Simaima Taufa, Rebecca Young.