Helen Moseley, Rachel Oberleuter, Chloe Kapalos, Rachel Bax, Lauren Fairfull and Michelle Forbes.

Twelve FFA C-License scholarships have been awarded to leading women through the football community by regional governing body Northern NSW Football.

Five of the twelve nominated coaches came from NNSWF’s premier competitions. Tara Johnson (New Lambton) and Chloe Kapalos (Wallsend) were nominated from Women’s Premier League clubs, while Rachel Bax (Mid North Coast SAP), Helen Moseley (North Coast SAP), and Shania Hedley (Newcastle SAP) rounded out the first five.

A number of zone coaches were also included in the scholarship, including Thaya Evenden (Lennox Head), Rachael Oberleuter (Sawtell), Emma Tamblyn (Macleay Valley Rangers), Madison Sharp (Quirindi), Lauren Fairfull (Greta Braxton), Michelle Forbes (Garden Suburb), and Emily Haigh (Cooks Hill United).

“While there has been and continues to be significant progress and growth in female football, the representation of women in accredited coaching positions remains significantly lower than male counterparts,” NNSWF’s head of football development Pete Haynes said.

“As leaders in our game we feel it’s essential to develop sustainable and inclusive environments, including engaging more female role models and coaches.”

C-License accreditation allows coaches to coach at a higher grade including in the Premier competitions and provides coaches with a greater understanding of the game of football, tactics and skills required to support their teams to reach potential.